Why I Love Star Wars

star-wars-day-games-tall-1-1536x512

In the spirit of May 4th, I thought I’d share with you why Star Wars and the Star Wars day is more important than all of the holidays combined.

I first fell in love with the galaxy far far away as a 5 or 6 year old when I first watched A New Hope. Back then I just thought that lightsabers were fucking cool. But that’s what ignited my love for the franchise.
As I got a older I started to realize how amazing the story was. And how everything is connected to everything. I also fell in love with the diversity of Star Wars’ galaxy.
During the past few years I’ve introduced myself to the extended media (comics, books etc). And I just love how huge the galaxy is. I mean, look at people like Doctor Aphra, she’s never seen in the movies but she’s a really big part of the universe and a huge part of filling Vader’s story between New Hope and Empire.
To summarize: I love Star Wars because of it’s rich storylines, great characters, diverse universe, beautifully executed films, the best extended extended media ever and the fact that everything that happens has a larger meaning.
Now to what Star Wars means to me.

Star Wars is more important to me than any holiday, career, country, religion or event in the world. It is, has always been and always will be my “safe-place”, my escape from reality. I’m truly a Star Wars fanatic. I’ve gone through almost every bit of content in the new canon and there are not a lot of things you can tell me about Star Wars that I don’t know already.

One of the biggest things I love about Star Wars, is that they have created a world that actually feels real. Like you can start talking about the company that creates TIE-fighters or about how Tusken Raiders started to worship Vader or other insignificant things like that. Or when you start reading about one character’s backstory and you have to read several other characters’ backstories too because they are so connected.

It’s really hard to describe my feelings about Star Wars, but my life wouldn’t be the same without it. Though it hasn’t influenced my life as much as Assassin’s Creed, it is one of the biggest influences in my life.

Leave a Reply

