Guardians Of The Galaxy: The Telltale Series Episode 1 Review

guardians_of_the_galaxy_4.jpg

Alright, I’m gonna start off by saying that I know pretty much nothing about the Guardians Of The Galaxy, I’ve seen the first movie but that’s as far as my knowledge goes. So some of my questions/points might be clear as day to all of you who read Marvel’s comic books.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Telltale’s format: It’s a five-part episodic game created by Telltale Games. I think the game would be best described as graphic point-and-click adventure where you craft your own story by the decisions you’re making. As I have only played the episode once, I’ve only seen one version of the story, so your experience could be somewhat different from mine.

Guardians-marvel-telltale-episode01.jpg

I’ll start by saying that, as is custom to Telltale Games, the game looks fucking beautiful! It kind of feels as if you were playing a comic book. The controls have been refined a bit since the last game I’ve played (Batman) and it took some time to get used to the fact that for example X isn’t talk anymore, but after I got used to it I found the new controls to be slightly better from the usual. Combat isn’t on the same level as it was in Batman, but it’s still good. And that fight with Thanos was so much fun!

The chapter you spend in the bar on Knowhere was a nice change of pace, as the team was celebrating after they defeated Thanos. I managed to upset Rocket by taking the credit for killing Thanos, after he’d been bragging about his gun, but fortunately I was able to talk some sense into him later. And I tried to earn his love back by selling Thanos’ body to the Collector, instead of giving it to Nova Corps. I just hope that Nova Corps aren’t too mad about that… but at least they wiped our records of all previous and future crimes earlier, so it can’t be that bad if they are mad.

I struggled the whole episode with my decisions, as I was trying to keep the team happy and together, especially after Rocket said he wanted to leave. Thankfully Drax stayed quite happy after I told him that he earned his vengeance, even though I didn’t take him with me to the Kree ship in the end.

Now Gamora is a whole another story. She didn’t seem too happy after I decided to sell Thanos to the Collector. I hope that my decision to bring her with me to the Kree ship eases her mind a bit, even though I might have gambled on her life when I took a step forward when Hala held a blade to her throat. I told Gamora to contact her sister, she seemed happy about that but I fear that it’s going to come back and bite our asses as Nebula seemed to be quite pissed at us (I wonder why…we only killed her father. It’s not a big deal, right?).

I don’t know if the Eternity Forge is a thing in Marvel Universe, but I don’t know what the hell it is but it seems fucking awesome! I can’t wait to find out more about it. Same thing with the Kree. First of all I want to know why Drax hates them so much. And I want to know how the fuck are they alive, they are supposed to be extinct, aren’t they? But then again.. there is always someone who survives.

Also the fact that we saw flashbacks from Peter’s childhood on Earth was fucking brilliant!

Only negative thing I have to say about the episode, is that you play the entire episode as Peter. I mean he’s awesome, but I was hoping for something like the way they did Game of Thrones, where you change between few different characters. Of course Peter had the lead, but there could have been two or three short scenes where you play as Rocket or Gamora. It’s a small thing but I hope that they give us few minutes where we can play as someone else for a moment, in the coming episodes.

All and all, it was a great episode. If the future episodes are as good as this one, GOTG could be one of the best Telltale games ever (it’s not going to beat Batman though). I had a lot of fun with the first episode and the two hours I spent with it, went by in a blink of an eye. I’ll give the episode a rating of 9/10! The next episode can’t come soon enough!

guardians_of_the_galaxy_2.jpg

One thought on “Guardians Of The Galaxy: The Telltale Series Episode 1 Review

  1. Pingback: Telltale’s Guardians Of The Galaxy Episode 2 Release Date! | Geekly Entertainment

Leave a Reply

